Kohli has faith in India's batsmen despite Rajkot reverse

Posted November 05, 2017

India drafted in the debutant Mohammad Siraj in the place of Ashish Nehra who retired from global cricket after the previous game.

Patel on the other hand started well, going for only four runs in his first over, but once Munro got set, India's spinners were taken to the cleaners.

After Colin Munro's unbeaten century helped New Zealand post 196 for two, the bowlers led by a four-wicket haul from Trent Boult helped the Black Caps restrict India to 156 for seven to win the second Twenty20 worldwide by 40 runs and levelling the series 1-1.

Fellow opener Martin Guptill also improved on a tough performance in the Black Caps' opening loss of the T20 series, contributing 45 runs of his own before he got himself out with a simple catch. Looks like a good surface, it's been a good surface during the IPL as well.

More news: Starbucks letting its customers color their own cups

Virat Kohli: We wanted to bowl first anyway.

"For me it's just a mind shift thing, not expecting too much of myself at this level or in Twenty20". Moreover, India becomes the 3rd hosting nation where New Zealand gets to play 100 matches after Australia (141) and England (121).

Given a spot in the starting XI on Saturday following Ashish Nehra's retirement, Siraj had a baptism with fire in Rajkot as New Zealand's batsmen made merry.

This win is certain to boost the New Zealanders' confidence going into the final match of both the T20I series and the tour. The dew factor will come into play, but not as prominently as it did in the previous game.

More news: DEA, Springfield Police hold National Prescription Drug Take Back Day event

"It has happened with a lot of batsmen where you don't get to go on strike". He stayed unbeaten to carry his bat in impressive fashion with a 58-ball 109.

Skipper Virat Kohli requires 12 runs to go past Tillakaratne as second highest run-getter in T20 internationals.

He reminded us why he is the Black Caps' greatest threat with the ball when he removed Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma in his very first over.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (C), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Glenn Philips, Mitchell Santner, IshSodhi and Tim Southee.

More news: United Kingdom blames North Korea for WannaCry ransomware attack