Joey Logano's Richmond Win Won't Count Toward Playoffs After Penalty

Posted May 06, 2017

NASCAR has penalized Joey Logano and Team Penske after Logano won Sunday's Monster Cup Series event at Richmond, resulting in the victory not counting toward an automatic playoff spot.

However, his auto failed post-race technical checks at NASCAR's R&D facility, therefore the win has been declared "encumbered".

A follow-up inspection Tuesday discovered the auto of Joey Logano had an illegal suspension at Sunday's Richmond International Raceway. The win doesn't count for qualification into the playoffs and Logano can't use the five bonus points for the playoffs that he earned for the win.

"Losing Todd is a very big part of our race team", Logano said. In addition, there is a loss of 25 driver points and 25 owners points.

More news: Oil plunges to lowest level for five months amid global growth fears

Team Penske announced Thursday that it will not appeal the penalty. Those playoff points are added to a driver's total when points are reset for each of the first three rounds of the playoffs.

Gordon also said: "If you look at our rear suspension. there's not really a whole lot of tomfoolery that goes on to hide something like this".

Meanwhile, Logano teammate Brad Keselowski is embroiled in a lengthy appeal over a March failed inspection.

According to NASCAR, the exact rule that was broken was: "The truck trailing arm spacer/pinion angle shim mating surfaces must be planar and must be in complete contact with corresponding mating surfaces at all points and at all times".

More news: Former NBA player Brandon Roy shot, wounded in California

And the encumbered win is only part of the price Logano and his No. 22 Team Penske team will pay for a rear-suspension violation discovered during post-race teardown of the race-winning auto after it was taken to the NASCAR R&D Center in Concord, North Carolina. The No. 22 team remains focused on competing for wins as we work towards the NASCAR Playoffs and a Championship.

"The fact of the matter is we're winning right now, and when your auto wins, it gets put through tech a lot". We've lost our crew chief for a couple of weeks.

Logano, acknowledging ignorance when it comes to all the moving parts and pieces of his Ford, added: "The rule is black and white that it must be flush and we apparently had a little bit of a gap".

This is the second time Team Penske had a violation in a race this season.

More news: Deshaun Watson gets emotional reading letter from mother at National Football League draft

Denny Hamlin, who finished third place in the race at RIR, was also penalized following the post race inspection for having a missing lug nut.